Lake District Tourist Activities and Attractions

Lake District Home

The Lake District National Park offers a wide variety of activities and visitor attractions to suit all tastes and budgets. If you are looking for child friendly fun or a specific interest to indulge, you will find them all here: Visitor Centres, Gardens and Parks, Country Houses & Estates, Industrial Heritage, Historic Sites, Arts and Crafts, Castles, Museums, Nature Reserves, Wildlife and Farms. Who knows what amazing discoveries you may make as you explore what the Lake District has to offer?
A comprehensive list of Lake District National Park Tourist Information Centres can be found here

Tourist Attractions & Activities in the Lake District National Park

Arts and Crafts:

Art Galleries, Sculpture Trails, Local Craft Exhibitions, Arts and Crafts in the Lake District:

The Lakes have a rich history of landscape painting, pottery and ceramics. The Grizedale sculpture park is the largest public sculpture trail in the UK and has been drawing visitors for many years.

Beckstones Art Gallery, Greystoke Ghyll. Contemporary Paintings. 01768 483601 – www.beckstonesartgallery.co.uk

Fitzwilliam Gallery, Hawkshead. 015394 36248 – www.thefitzwilliamgallery.co.uk

Gatefoot Gallery, Stavelely. Landscape Photography. 01539 822554 – www.gatefootgallery.com

Thornthwaite Galleries, Keswick. Local Artists & Crafts. 017687 78248 – www.thornthwaitegalleries.co.uk

Grizedale Sculpture Park, Grizedale Forest, Hawkshead. Public Sculpture Trail. 01229860010 – www.grizedalesculpture.org


 Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Food and Drink:

Breweries, Farms, Bakeries and Farmers Markets in the Lake District National Park
There is more to the Lake District than the excellent Cumberland Sausages. Spend some time exploring traditional Cumbrian cuisine & the many local delicacies on offer.

Farmers Markets:

For-up-to-date and extensive listings of when and where all the farmers markets in the lakes are try this dedicated Go Lakes Page at www.golakes.co.uk/food-and-drink/farmers-markets Also have a look at www.artisan-food.com/cumbrian-markets

Open Farms:

Holme Open Farm, Sedbergh. 01539 620654 – www.holmeopenfarm.co.uk

Old Hall Farm, Bouth. 01229 861993 – www.oldhallfarmbouth.com

Yew Tree Farm, Coniston. 015394 41433 – www.yewtree-farm.com

Breweries:

Barngates Brewery, Ambleside. Drunken Duck Inn 015394 36347 – www.drunkenduckinn.co.uk

Hawkshead Brewery, Staveley. 01539 822644 – www.hawksheadbrewery.co.uk

Jennings Brewery, Cockermouth. 0845 1297190 – www.jenningsbrewery.co.uk

Keswick Brewery, Keswick. 017687 80700 – www.keswickbrewery.co.uk

Waswater Brewery, Wasdale Head Inn. 019467 26229 – www.wasdale.com

Yates Brewery,Wigton. 01697 321081 – www.yatesbrewery.co.uk

 There is an excellent website, dedicated to all thing eat and drinkable in the Lakes at www.tastecumbria.com


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


History and Heritage:

Castles, Halls, Stone Circles, Cathedrals, Churches.

Castles

There is such a wide Historical and Geographical range of Castles in Cumbria, we would recommend this page on the
Visit Cumbria Website which has extensive details, locations and histories for all the Roman Forts, Medieval Castles and “Modern Castles”in the Lake District.

Churches and Cathedrals

Carlisle Cathedral is nearly 900 years old and is the England’s second smallest. www.carlislecathedral.org.uk

There is a lot of useful information about every Church in Cumbria on these pages from the
Britainexpress/cumbria/churches Website

Stone Circles

Burnmoor Stone Circles.  www.edgeguide.co.uk/burnmoor stones
Location: Grid references NY172028, NY172027, NY172023, NY172024, NY173023. Parking at Dalegarth Station.

Castlerigg Stone Circle. Wikipedia.org/CastleriggStoneCircle
Location: Grid ref NY291236.  2.5 kilometres (1.6 miles) South East of Keswick. Limited parking near site.

Cockpit Stone Circle. www.stone-circles.org.uk
Above Ullswater. Location: Grid ref NY482222.  3.5 kilometres (2.2 miles) South West of Askham.

Swinside Stone Circle. Wikipedia.org/SwinsideStones
Location: Grid ref SD171881.  4 kilometres (2.5 miles) West of Broughton in Furness. Parking at start of track.


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Industrial Heritage:

Watermills, Windmills, Railways and Mines. Lake District Industrial Heritage Attractions.

Mills in the Lakes

The Following Mills are open to the Public:

Acorn Bank Mill, Little Temple Sowerby / Culgaith –  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/acorn-bank

Eskdale Mill, Boot –  www.eskdalemill.co.uk

Gleaston Watermill, Ulverston – www.watermill.co.uk/watermill

Heron Corn Mill,  Beetham – www.heronmill.org

Little Salkeld Watermill, Little Salkeld –  www.visitcumbria.com/little-salkeld-watermill

Stott Park Bobbin Mill, Newby Bridge –  www.visitcumbria.com/sl/stott-park-bobbin-mill

Not Open to the Public:

Wythop Mill, Embleton, Cockermouth. www.visitcumbria.com/wythop-mill

Former Mills:

Farfield Mill, Sedbergh. www.farfieldmill.org

Priests Mill, Caldbeck. www.visitcumbria.com/car/priests-mill

Railways and Trains

Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway, vintage trains, 015395 31594 –  www.lakesiderailway.co.uk

Ravenglass Steam Railway, 01229 717171 – www.ravenglass-railway.co.uk

Mines

Force Crag Mine, Keswick – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/force crag

Haig Colliery Mining Museum, Whitehaven 01946 599949 – www.haigpit.wordpress.com

Honister Slate Mine (still working) Borrowdale  017687 77230 –  www.honister.com

Millom Museum, Millom 01229 772555 – www.millomdiscoverycentre.co.uk

Nenthead Mines Conservation Society, Nenthead – www.nentheadmines.com

Threlkeld Quarry & Mining Museum, Keswick 017687 79747 –  www.threlkeldminingmuseum.co.uk


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Museums and Exhibitions:

Museums and Historic Exhibitions in the Lake District

Armitt Library, Ambleside. 015394 31212  www.armitt.com

Beatrix Potter Gallery,  Hawkshead. 015394 36355  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/beatrix-potter-gallery

Cumberland Pencil Museum, Keswick.  017687 73626  www.pencilmuseum.co.uk

Guildhall Museum, Carlisle.  01228 534781 www.visitcumbria.com/the-guildhall-museum

Kendal Museum, Kendal.  01539 815597 www.kendalmuseum.org.uk

Maryport Maritime Museum, Maryport. 01900 813738  www.maryportmaritimemuseum.btck.co.uk

RAF Millom Aviation & Military Museum, Millom. www.rafmillom.co.uk

Senhouse Roman Museum , Maryport.  01900 816168 www.senhousemuseum.co.uk

Windermere Steamboat Museum, Windermere.  01539 722464 www.steamboats.org.uk

Wordsworth House, Cockermouth.  01539 722464 www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wordsworth-house


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Parks and Gardens:

Public Parks, Historic Homes and Gardens in the Lakes

Homes and Gardens

Brantwood House – Home of John Ruskin, Coniston –  015394 41396  www.brantwood.org

Dalemain Historic House & Gardens, Penrith – 017684 86450  www.dalemain.com

Kirklinton Hall & Gardens Kirklinton – 016977 48292  www.kirklintonhall.co.uk

Levens Hall & Gardens, Kendal – 015395 60321 www.levenshall.co.uk

Wordswoth House & Garden Cockermouth – 01900 824805 www.nationaltrust/wordsworth-house

Parks in the Lake District

Abbot Hall Park, Kendal. Children’s play area and bowling green –  www.abbot-hall-park

Bitts Park, Carlisile. Sports and childrens facilities – www.carlisle.gov.uk/bitts_park

Cowraik Quarry, Penrith  – www.naturalengland.org.uk/cowraik quarry

Dubwath Silver Meadows, Bassenthwaite wetland nature reserve – www.dubwathsilvermeadows.org.uk

Gait Barrows National Nature Reserve, Milnthorpe – www.naturalengland/gaitbarrows

Wreay Woods, Carlisle.  Nature reserve on the banks of the River Petteri  www.cumbriawildlifetrust/wreay-woods


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Visitor Centres:

Themed Visitor Centres, Interactive and Historic Exhibitions.
A list of Lake District tourist information centres (TIC’s) can be found here

RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve and Visitor Centre.  Myers Farm, Silverdale, Carnforth, Lancashire, LA5 0SW. Tel:01524 701601 email: leighton.moss@rspb.org.uk Their Website is Here  – In our visitor centre our staff are happy to help you find out about nature. We have an information area with news of ‘what’s about’ and are pleased to give you advice on how to encourage wildlife to your garden. Rail station: Silverdale. Parking: Free. Children welcome. Free entry. Disabled access

The Wave Centre & Maryport TIC. Irish Street, Maryport, Cumbria, CA15 8AD. Tel: 01900 811450 – email:info@thewavemaryport.co.uk  The wave website: www.thewavemaryport.co.uk  – The Wave Centre is a revolutionary £3.3million Entertainment, Conferencing and Heritage Visitor Centre situated in the historic Georgian harbour town of Maryport, in the western lake district. Rail station: Maryport (1 mile) Parking: free

Brockhole – Lake District Visitor Centre. Brockhole, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LJ. Tel: 015394 46601 –  infodesk@lakedistrict.gov.uk View the brockhole visitor centre website www.brockhole.co.uk – Enjoy a day out at the National Park Visitor Centre. Our indoor exhibitions, the famous Thomas Mawson gardens and an exciting adventure playground ensure something for all the family. Closest rail station is Windermere (2 miles) Parking: With charge. Children welcome. Free entry and Disabled access.

Water Based Attractions:

The Lake District is a popular and beautiful spot for water based fun: Cruises, Aquariums and Boating


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP


Wildlife and Nature:

Forests, Nature Reserves and Animal Parks in the Lake District


Arts+Crafts : Food+Drink : History+Heritage : Industrial Heritage : Museums+Exhibitions : Parks+Gardens Visitor Centres : Water Based Attractions : Wildlife+Nature : BACK TO TOP



Lake District Home   BACK TO TOP